Sourdough Starter

Sourdough Starter

This past fall, I made a goal to make all of our own bread.  I have always wanted to, but for some reason, I never followed through.  I like the idea of having a major staple in our house be completely homemade.  We eat sandwiches on a regular basis.  (My son seems to want peanut butter and jelly sandwiches every.single.day.)  A sourdough starter has always interested me, so I decided to start there.  There is a starter recipe in one of the bread cookbooks I have, but seriously, I cannot comprehend the recipe.  It seems way too over complicated. Luckily, my trusty blog site had a very simple starter recipe.

This starter is something that is ready in a matter of days.  Then, it can sit in your fridge, untouched for nearly 2 weeks. And, if you still don’t have time at the end of the two weeks to bake sourdough bread, you can just remove a portion and add in more flour and water. So easy!  I try to make bread every Saturday with my daughter. She likes to call it our bread making day.  It’s something she really looks forward to. (Don’t worry, I will be sharing in the near future the simple sourdough sandwich bread that we make regularly.)

Sourdough Starter

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar or honey
  • 1 Tablespoon active dry yeast
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

Directions

In a large bowl, whisk together the warm water and sugar to dissolve.  Then, stir in the yeast.

Sourdough Starter

Gradually mix in the flour. Cover loosely with a clean kitchen towel (not plastic wrap), and place in a warm area.

Sourdough Starter

Let the sourdough sit for 2-5 days, stirring once a day, due to the separation that will occur. When the bubbling has lessened and a sour smell has developed, stir one more time, then store in an airtight container in the refrigerator. (I like to use a large tupperware container.)

For maintaining your sourdough; it should be fed every two weeks or so. I remind myself by baking bread just about every saturday. Or, you can always make a note on your calendar. To feed your sourdough, for every 1 cup of starter removed (either discarded or used in a bread recipe), replace with 1/2 cup of warm water and 1 cup of flour. Stir until combined. Cover, then let sit at room temperature for at least 12 hours before returning to the refrigerator.

Source: Annie’s Eats

Leave a Reply

