Honey Glazed Carrots

Image

As I have said before (I think), side dishes were totally something of a mystery to me when I first started really cooking. When I thought of a side dish, I always thought of boring, tasteless vegetables that were overcooked or just plain gross. Luckily, I purchased a cookbook that has a section devoted to just vegetables. My side dishes are anything but boring and tasteless! In fact, this recipe is one of my favorites. I could probably eat these carrots every single day if I had the chance. Something about the honey and butter glaze on the carrots is a combination to die for. My son, who isn’t a particular fan of carrots will eat a whole plate full of these. These are definitely kid friendly and a great way to add a little pizzazz to any meal!

Honey Glazed Carrots

  • 1 1/2 pounds carrots (about 9), peeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick on the bias
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 Tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Directions

Bring the carrots, broth and 1/4 teaspoon salt to a simmer in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cover, reduce the heat to medium, and cook until the carrots are almost tender, about 5 minutes.

Uncover, increase the heat to high, and simmer rapidly until the liquid measures about 2 tablespoons, 2-3 minutes. Stir in the honey and butter and continue to cook, stirring often, until the carrots are completely tender and the sauce has reduced to a light golden glaze, about 4 minutes.

Off the heat, stir in the lemon juice, season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve.

Source: The America’s Test Kitchen, Healthy Family Cookbook

Leave a Reply

