Eggnog Ice Cream

Image

I can’t believe there only a few weeks left until Christmas then year 2014! I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Or least better than mine. I was oh so sick over Thanksgiving. Luckily the kids were fine, so my husband took them to his grandparents house for the usual feast.

Unfortunately, last week was a huge week of disappointments and upsets. Between a huge hurdle that stopped all production and going forward on the house and a very close relative being in the hospital, I would definitely say I am happy to have last week behind me. My goal is to look forward to Christmas and enjoy all parts of it, leaving everything bad behind.

One of my all-time favorite things surrounding Christmas is eggnog. I used to drink that stuff by the gallons as a kid. (How was I not obese as a kid is beyond me.) I try to hold off buying any eggnog until December 1st, even though the stores start pressuring me right after halloween. Anyway, I have always wanted to make eggnog ice cream, but didn’t want to use raw eggs (especially now that I am pregnant). I had the brilliant idea (if I do say so myself) of getting store-bought eggnog and pouring it into my ice cream maker with a little added nutmeg. So I experimented. Needless to say, it worked! I am very excited. Making ice cream couldn’t get any more simple than this! It is smooth, creamy and oh so delicious! It definitely put me in the christmas spirit!

Eggnog Ice Cream

  • 1 quart of desired store-bought eggnog
  • 3/4-1 teaspoon nutmeg, plus more for garnishing

Directions

Pour the eggnog into a large bowl and whisk in the nutmeg. Taste and add more if desired. Pour into your ice cream maker and process according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Freeze immediately or serve, garnishing with additional nutmeg. Enjoy!

Island Bakes Original

Leave a Reply

