Veggie Barley

Image

As I learn more about grains and their health benefits, I am always trying to incorporate them into my regular meal routine. And of course, I am always trying to think of new ways to cook them! Quinoa is my favorite, go-to healthy grain, but barley is starting to creep up on me. I love meals that are an all-in-one dish as well. It saves me effort and time if I am lacking in those categories, but still can put a healthy, well rounded meal on the table.

Barley is one of my favorite additions to soup, but I wanted to experiment with having it as the base of a large vegetable dish. I tend to make veggie dishes a bit of a free for all. Basically any vegetable in my house gets thrown into the pot. Does anyone else do that? I love it. This dish in particular is very filling and can make a great meal, or a wonderful side dish to meat. Or many lunch? Whatever you prefer!

Veggie Barley

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups pearl barley, rinsed
  • 1 small onion, peeled and minced
  • 1 10.5 oz. package of cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 cup frozen or fresh corn
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 3 Tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons grapeseed oil
  • soy sauce (optional)

Directions

In a large pot over high heat, bring the water and broth to a boil. Add the barley and stir well. Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, stirring once or twice, until the barley is tender and the water is absorbed, about 40-45 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet, heat the grapeseed oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion, cherry tomatoes, black beans, corn, garlic and red pepper. Stirring frequently, cook the vegetables until they are tender, about 10 minutes. Remove from the heat, stir in the salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley.

In a large bowl, or the pot the barley was cooked in, mix the vegetables and barley together. Stir until well mixed. Add the lime juice and olive oil and stir once more. Taste to adjust seasonings and serve with soy sauce if desired.

Island Bakes Original

2 thoughts on “Veggie Barley

Leave a Reply

