Pumpkin Muffins

Image

Breakfast is my favorite meal. Since I have to be adult-like and not consider dessert as a meal. Even though I am sure we would all love to just eat dessert all the time. No? Maybe that’s just me…

These muffins taste like dessert, but they are actually quite healthy! Sneaky…  Full of bran, raisins, and since I couldn’t resist; chocolate chips. And for pumpkin haters, these have a very faint taste of pumpkin. My husband, who doesn’t like pumpkin, loves these muffins! I usually make a double batch because my family gobbles down muffins like they are going out of style. I ran out of muffin tins, so I made mini muffins! Perfect for my 2 year old son who manages to sneak into the kitchen and come out with an arm-load of muffins.

Pumpkin Muffins

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin pureé
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk, yogurt (plain or vanilla- I have used both and they taste the same), OR sour cream
  • 1/2 cup olive oil or grapeseed oil (vegetable or canola oil will work too)
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup natural wheat bran
  • 3/4 cup white or brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease, or line with paper liners, 12 muffin cups.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the pumpkin pureé, eggs, buttermilk and oil. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, bran, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add the pumpkin mixture to the flour mixture, and stir until just combined. Fold in the raisins and chocolate chips.

Fill the muffin cups about 3/4 full. Bake in the oven for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Place on a wire rack to cool.

Source: Adapted from Joy of Baking

Leave a Reply

